CHESSEL HOUSE was built for David Lance in 1796. David Lance was the Sheriff of Hampshire in 1807. With stunning views of the River Itchen and Southampton, the house took several years to build. A friend of Mrs Lance was to visit Chessel House several times between 1806 and 1809 - none other than Jane Austen. The Lance family left Chessel c1820 when it became the home of Lord Ashtown.
In 1840 the property was acquired by Sir William Richardson who died 1848. Upon the death of Sir William, the house was passed to the eldest son, William Henry Richardson who was known locally for his generosity until his death in 1906. Remaining empty, the house was sold to developers and finally demolished in 1920's.
(Text from THE LOST HOUSES OF SOUTHAMPTON by Jessica Vale which is available to browse at our Heritage Centre)